Monday, September 21, 2009

Winners of the First Annual Democracy Video Challenge Announced!

Also on September 18th, the Secretary met with the Winners of the First Annual Democracy Video Challenge, at the Department of State. The Democracy Video Challenge asked young video makers to complete the phrase, “Democracy is…” through three-minute videos posted on the competition’s YouTube site. More than 900 people from 95 countries answered the challenge. An independent jury co-chaired by Hernando de Soto (President of the Institute for Liberty and Democracy) and Michael Apted (President of the Directors Guild of America) selected the 18 finalists, and the online voting public chose the six winners, one from each region of the world.

The winners announced were:

· Chansa Tembo from Zambia (Sub-Saharan Africa) · Aissa PeƱafiel from the Philippines (East Asia and Pacific) · Lukasz Szozda from Poland (Europe) · Rodin Hamidi from the United Arab Emirates (Near East and North Africa) · Tsering Choden from Nepal (South and Central Asia) · Anna Christa dos Santos from Brazil (Western Hemisphere)

The winners will receive an all-expense-paid trip to New York, Washington, and Los Angeles in September, where they will meet with democracy groups, film and television companies, the media, and government organizations. Screenings of their films are planned in all three cities.

The good news is the Democracy Video Challenge is up and running for a second year! To learn more about it and visit their official YouTube page, click here! Read the full text of her remarks here or watch below:

No comments:

Post Your Comment Below:

Grab this Widget ~ Blogger Accessories